British Motorcycle Racing Circuits Since 1907


Quantity Onhand: 0

Add to Cart:

  • ISBN: 9781859836576
  • Author:
  • Publ Date:
  • Edition:
  • Binding: HardBack
  • Pages: 0
  • Imprint: BREEDON
  • Publisher:
  • Country of Publication:
  • ID - 43490


Mick Walker has produced the definitive book on British motorcycle racing circuits. Here, for the first time, is every circuit, from Aberdare Park to Waterbeach, with hundreds both well known and now long-forgotten in between. Fully illustrated by way of colourful programme covers, circuit maps and period photographs, this is a must-have for any real racing enthusiast.Motorcycle racing in Great Britain began in 1907 with the opening of Brooklands near Weybridge in Surrey, the first purpose-built circuit in Europe and the inaugural staging of the Isle of Man TT. Then, during the interwar period came venues such as Cadwell Park, Crystal Palace, Syston and Donington Park. However, it was after the end of World War Two in 1945 that circuit racing really established itself, not only with the influx of former wartime airfields including Boreham, Haddonham, Ibsley, Thruxton, Silverstone, and Snetterton, but also Brands Hatch, Alton Towers, Scarborough, and Outton Park to name but a few. North of the border came Beveridge Park, Errol and Charterholl, while across the Irish Sea, the Ulster Grand Prix and the North West 200 were bolstered by a myriad of new road courses.



Copyright © 2003-2014 OctaneBooks Shopping Cart